Taylor Swift sweeps iHeart Awards

Taylor Swift screamed with excitement when she heard her name called at the iHeart Radio Music Awards yesterday.

Taylor Swift was named Artist of the Year at the iHeart Radio Music Awards last night.

The 24-year-old singer took home three prizes in total at the ceremony held at the Shrine Auditorium in Los Angeles. Alongside the top gong, she also scored Song of the Year for Shake It Off and Best Lyrics for Blank Space.

It’s hardly the first time the megastar has been honoured, but her reaction could almost have suggested otherwise. Taylor was pictured screaming with elation, her hair flying all over the place, when her name was called yesterday.

“I’m so proud of the fact that having done this for ten years now, we’ve gotten closer and closer with each year, not further apart,” Taylor thanked her fans in her acceptance speech. “I love knowing your stories, thank you for joking around with me on Instagram and Twitter and Tumblr. You make me so happy.”

Others nominated for Artist of the Year last night were Iggy Azalea, Luke Bryan, Ariana Grande and Sam Smith.

However, not all of them went home empty handed, with Sam picking up Best New Artist.

Taylor may have praised her fans on stage, but they didn’t quite make the cut for Best Fan Army – that honour went to 5 Seconds of Summer’s 5SOSFAM.

Meanwhile, Jeremih and YG triumphed in the Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year category with Don’t Tell Em, while Jason Aldean picked up Country Song of the Year with Burnin’ It Down.

Performers last night included Rihanna, Jason Derulo and Nick Jonas, while Taylor, Beyoncé Knowles, Jay Z, Katy Perry, Pharrell Williams and Ariana presented.

iHeart Radio Music Awards 2015 winners list

Artist of the Year

Iggy Azalea

Luke Bryan

Ariana Grande

Sam Smith

Taylor Swift – WINNER

Song of the Year

All About That Bass — Meghan Trainor

All of Me — John Legend

Happy — Pharrell Williams

Shake It Off — Taylor Swift – WINNER

Stay With Me — Sam Smith

Best New Artist

Iggy Azalea


Sam Smith — WINNER

Cole Swindell

Meghan Trainor

Best Lyrics

All of Me — John Legend

Blank Space — Taylor Swift — WINNER

Counting Stars — OneRepublic

Habits (Stay High) — Tove Lo”Stay With Me” — Sam Smith

Thinking Out Loud — Ed Sheeran

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year

Don’t Tell ‘Em — Jeremih featuring YG — WINNER

Drunk in Love — Beyoncé featuring Jay Z

Flawless — Beyoncé

Loyal — Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga

New Flame — Chris Brown featuring Usher and Rick Ross

Country Song of the Year

Bartender — Lady Antebellum

Burnin’ It Down — Jason Aldean — WINNER

Dirt — Florida Georgia Line

Give Me Back My Hometown — Eric Church

Play It Again — Luke Bryan

Best Fan Army

5SOSFAM — 5 Seconds of Summer — WINNER

Arianators — Ariana Grande

Bey Hive — Beyoncé

Team Breezy —Chris Brown

Sheerios — Ed Sheeran

Church Choir — Eric Church

Directioners — One Direction

Selenators — Selena Gomez

Mendes Army — Shawn Mendes

Swifties — Taylor Swift

Best Collaboration

Bang Bang — Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj — WINNER

Dark Horse — Katy Perry featuring Juicy J

Fancy — Iggy Azalea featuring Charli XCX

Problem — Ariana Grande featuring Iggy Azalea

Talk Dirty — Jason Derulo featuring 2 Chainz


Iggy Azalea

Charli XCX

Brantley Gilbert — WINNER


Meghan Trainor

Dance Song of the Year

Animals — Martin Garrix

Blame — Calvin Harris featuring John Newman

La La La — Naughty Boy featuring Sam Smith

Summer — Calvin Harris – WINNER

Waves — Mr. Probz

Alternative Rock Song of the Year

Come With Me Now – KONGOS

Do I Wanna Know? – Arctic Monkeys

Fever – The Black Keys

Something From Nothing – Foo Fighters

Take Me to Church – Hozier – WINNER
Copyright: Cover Media 2015

Monday, 30. March 2015