MJ album coming in May

Michael Jackson’s XSCAPE will include eight new songs.

Michael Jackson’s estate has cleared a posthumous release with eight never-before-heard tracks.

XSCAPE is scheduled for release in May through Epic Records, according to a press release issued Monday promising to include songs “which the world will be hearing for the very first time”.

The album was compiled by Epic Records Chairman and CEO L.A. Reid, who was granted access to four decades of the singer’s material.

The executive then teamed up with producers including Timbaland, Rodney Jerkins, Stargate, Jerome “Jroc” Harmon and John McClain to “contemporise” the songs and create “the best music you’ve never heard”.

“Modern music and artistry would look and sound completely different if not for the groundbreaking contributions Michael Jackson gifted to the world,” L.A. Reid said.

“Michael left behind some musical performances that we take great pride in presenting through the vision of music producers that he either worked directly with or expressed strong desire to work with. We are extremely proud and honoured to present this music to the world.”

The album will also be released in a Deluxe Edition, which will include all of the songs in their original form.

John Branca and John McClain, co-executors of the Estate of Michael Jackson, thanked the producers for breathing life into the King of Pop’s archives.

“Michael was always on the cutting edge and was constantly reaching out to new producers, looking for new sounds. He was always relevant and current. These tracks, in many ways, capture that spirit. We thank L.A. Reid for his vision,” they said.

XSCAPE will be available for pre-order on iTunes beginning April 1.

Michael passed away in June 2009 at the age of 50.
Copyright: Cover Media 2014

Monday, 31. March 2014