Lincoln leads SAG nominations

Lincoln and Silver Linings Playbook have been nominated for four Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards.
Busy Philipps and Taye Diggs announced who is in the running for the prestigious prizes at the Pacific Design Center in Los Angeles this morning. News of the nominations is eagerly anticipated by film fans around the world, as they are seen as a precursor of the Oscars.
Lincoln and Silver Linings Playbook lead the board, with both movies up for the best ensemble prize. They are joined in the category by Argo, Best Exotic Marigold Hotel and Les Misérables.
Lincoln’s lead Daniel Day-Lewis is up for the best actor gong, with Bradley Cooper also mentioned in the category for his turn in Silver Linings Playbook. Denzel Washington, John Hawkes and Hugh Jackman round out the category.
Tommy Lee Jones received a nod for best supporting actor in Lincoln, with Sally Field up for the female version of the prize for the same movie.
Tommy faces stiff competition from Alan Arkin, Javier Bardem, Phillip Seymour Hoffman and Robert De Niro – who is in the running for the award for his role in Silver Linings Playbook.
The movie’s final nomination is in the best actress category for Jennifer Lawrence. Vying for the prize alongside her is Jessica Chastain, Marion Cotillard, Dame Helen Mirren and Naomi Watts.
Musical adaptation Les Misérables received three nominations over all, with Anne Hathaway in the running for best supporting actress alongside Sally, Helen Hunt, Nicole Kidman and Dame Maggie Smith.
The SAG Awards also cover television, with CIA drama Homeland picking up three nominations. The show is mentioned in the best TV ensemble category, alongside Boardwalk Empire, Breaking Bad,
Downton Abbey and Mad Men.
Homeland’s male star Damian Lewis could take home the best TV drama actor prize, with his co-star Claire Danes in the running for the female accolade.
Modern Family has once again been nominated for best TV comedy, alongside 30 Rock, The Big Bang Theory, Glee, Nurse Jackie and The Office.

2013 Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards main nominees:

Best Ensemble:
Les Misérables
Silver Linings Playbook
Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Best Actor:
Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
John Hawkes, The Sessions
Hugh Jackman, Les Misérables
Denzel Washington, Flight

Best Actress:
Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty
Marion Cotillard, Rust & Bone
Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
Helen Mirren, Hitchcock
Naomi Watts, The Impossible

Best Supporting Actor:
Alan Arkin, Argo
Javier Bardem, Skyfall
Robert De Niro, Silver Linings Playbook
Phillip Seymour Hoffman, The Master
Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln

Best Supporting Actress:
Sally Field, Lincoln
Anne Hathaway, Les Misérables
Helen Hunt, The Sessions
Nicole Kidman, The Paperboy
Maggie Smith, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel

Best TV Ensemble, Drama:
Boardwalk Empire
Breaking Bad
Downton Abbey
Mad Men

Best TV Ensemble, Comedy:
30 Rock
The Big Bang Theory
Modern Family
Nurse Jackie
The Office

Best TV Actor, Drama:
Steve Buscemi, Boardwalk Empire
Bryan Cranston, Breaking Bad
Jeff Daniels, The Newsroom
Jon Hamm, Mad Men
Damian Lewis, Homeland

Best TV Actress, Drama:
Claire Danes, Homeland
Michelle Dockery, Downton Abbey
Jessica Lange, American Horror Story: Asylum
Julianna Margulies, The Good Wife
Maggie Smith, Downton Abbey

Best TV Actor, Comedy:
Alec Baldwin, 30 Rock
Ty Burrell, Modern Family
Louis CK, Louie
Jim Parsons, The Big Bang Theory
Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family

Best TV Actress, Comedy:
Edie Falco, Nurse Jackie
Tina Fey, 30 Rock
Amy Poehler, Parks & Recreation
Sofia Vergara, Modern Family
Betty White, Hot in Cleveland

Best Actor, Made for TV Movie/Miniseries:
Kevin Costner, Hatfields & McCoys
Woody Harrelson, Game Change
Ed Harris, Game Change
Clive Owen, Hemingway & Gelhorn
Bill Paxton, Hatfields & McCoys

Best Actress, Made for TV Movie/Miniseries:
Nicole Kidman, Hemingway & Gelhorn
Julianne Moore, Game Change
Charlotte Rampling, Restless
Sigourney Weaver, Political Animals
Alfre Woodard, Steel Magnolias
Copyright: Cover Media 2012

Wednesday, 12. December 2012